Bp’s new Clinical Leadership Advisory Committee meets

Best Practice Software’s new Clinical Leadership Advisory Committee for 2017 ” 2019 have met at Bp’s Brisbane Business Centre today.

The Clinical Leadership Advisory Committee is made up of six key members of the Australasian medical community ” doctors, practice managers, nurses and diagnostic professionals ” to steer the clinical appropriateness of Bp software into the future.

Chief Executive Officer Dr Frank Pyefinch will continue to lead the way as Chairman, with Chief Operating Officer Mr Craig Hodges as Deputy Chair. Best Practice Software Director Mrs Lorraine Pyefinch will also continue on the Committee.

Mr Hodges says the new Clinical Leadership Advisory Committee reflects Bp’s guiding philosophy of being the medical software provider most connected with its users and one that remains developed by doctors for doctors.

Our first Clinical Leadership Advisory Committee, formed in 2015, was a great success and I’m looking forward to the opportunity of engaging with this Committee, which will guide and advise us until 2019 said Mr Hodges. We look forward to hearing their feedback on our clinical connections and the key user functions and features that will keep our software evolving into the future, Mr Hodges said.

Other members include current General Practitioner Dr Greg Wyatt, who has been an active user and beta tester of Bp software since its establishment. Dr Wyatt has been closely involved in the Divisions of GP for over 20 years in a number of roles including a board member and chair.

Alongside will be Dr Cedric Meyerowitz, who is a General Practitioner with an extensive knowledge in GP computing. Dr Meyerowitz is passionate about electronic communications between healthcare workers and hospitals, has had a long history with beta testing and is well known for doing his own IT support.

Mr Peter Wallis continues on the committee as a business Practice Manager with 10 years’ experience. Mr Wallis has been proactive in the development of technology in general practice, has a background in the NSW court system, not for profit and business sectors.

Ms Charlotte Hurn also continues on the Clinical Leadership Advisory Committee. Ms Hurn is a registered nurse who is currently the National Nursing & Clinical Governance Manager for IPN Medical Centres. Ms Hurn possesses an in-depth knowledge of general practice nursing, monitoring nursing practice and software use support for both doctors and nurses.

New members are Dr Lisa Surman and Mr Rushan Hewawasam. Dr Surman is a General Practitioner in Perth. She has been in fulltime practice since 1985, including 6 years in Brunei. Dr Surman’s interests include shared antenatal care, obstetrics, gynaecology, diving medicine, travel and skin cancer medicine. She has a special interest in the early adoption of new technology and relishes the challenge of beta testing.

Mr Hewawasam, whose background is in Accountancy, has extensive experience in Practice Management, guest lectures at Victoria University in Practice Management, is an Accreditor with GPA and visits other Clinics in Victoria to assist with and assess their accreditations.

We are delighted to have a mix of old and new members who will help guide Best Practice Software for the next 2 years Mr Hodges said.